Harbor Freight Reviews
All Reviewed Items Index All Items Index About
Login / Register Search:
Thumbnail of Product

1/2" Electric Impact Wrench - 45252 view this item at harborfreight.com »


Ratings: (5 is best)

 1   2  3  4   5
Review by Bigplanz on September 15th, 2013
Update: I have had this three years. Took off lugnuts on two wheels yesterday in seconds. Today I bent my lawnmower blade on a rock. Seven year old lawnmower and the blade has never been touched. This impact wrench spun it off in seconds. Best $32 I have spent at HF.
Review by avnsteve on January 1st, 2012
for $32 you couldn't ask for a better electric impact. I have used mine extensively for 3 years now and it has not failed. There are torque limitations on it, but again, for the price, I'd buy another if this one dies. You could spend hundreds of dollars more for a name brand, but you won't get any better performance, definitely pleased with this impact wrench
Review by Stormin Mormon on September 27th, 2010
I wrote a review for t his already, tonight. Aparently, some items are listed more than once on this reveiw pages. Any way to contact the webmaster?
Review by Stormin Mormon on September 27th, 2010
In about 1998, I got another electric impact wrench from another company. It broke (at a very bad moment). Later, I got one of these -- which has worked about as well as the other one. It is a bit too bulky for under fenders and some places. But, if you have the room to use it (wheel lugs, under leaf springs) it works well. The one time I removed a trailer hitch, needed some heat on the nuts. They were badly rusted. Definitely worth $40 half price, and totally worth 32, with the 20 percenter coupon.
Review by Bigplanz on August 28th, 2010
I bought this the other day, on sale, for $32. I need to remove tires from time to time, and don't have an air compressor. For $32 I thought, 'why not?'

It's rated at 240 ft lbs of torque so that should be plenty for any lug nut (or general repair) on a typical car. I tested it on the lug nuts on my mini-van. One wheel was torqued to 100 ft lbs with a torque wrench the last time I changed a tire, so I put a 19mm deep well impact socket and 3 inch impact extension bar on the electric wrench and gave it a go. It spun off the lug nut easily, in less that five seconds, comparably to an air wrench. I then tried it on another wheel, which was last put on by Goodyear about three years ago. I have no idea what the lugs were torqued to on that wheel. Again, the electric impact wrench spun off the lug nut easily, in less than five seconds.

Since I have only had this a couple of days, I'll post an update if I have problems with a suspension bolt, or if it fails on me, but right now I am quite happy with my $32 1/2 inch electric impact wrench. Note: it's heavy and bulky, so you won't get into tight places with it, but if you have access it should do the job quite nicely.
Review by TucsonK5 on November 23rd, 2009
Have had this for about 10 years. Can't say I have used it a ton, as I got a compressor soon after, but it did what it was supposed to do. Not a ton of power, but at least as much as a low-end air impact (~150 ft lbs or so?).
Review by tjc on November 15th, 2009
Bought it on sale. Has a little problem with lugnuts, but give it a few moments and it might make it.
Review by drvslow on September 27th, 2009
Has done the job at removing car axle nuts, flywheel bolts, and outboard flyhweel nuts. If you need more torque get a HD air impact wrench. I use it for removing wheel lug bolts also when in a hurry. I repair cars and outboard engines in my spare time, so it gets occasional useage, 5-6 times a month, not heavy use. I have not used it on anything torqued over 150 lbs, so it may be limited.

Post a Review

Log in or create a user account to post a review!