Harbor Freight Reviews
All Reviewed Items Index All Items Index About
Login / Register Search:
Thumbnail of Product

6" Digital Caliper - 47257 view this item at harborfreight.com »


Ratings: (5 is best)

 1   2  3  4   5
Review by photoleif on March 21st, 2012
Got one for my father as a gift. We were all pleasantly surprised at the high quality. He uses it occasionally and comments on how much nicer it is to have a digital readout than the analog dial he had to read for decades on a scientific calibrated caliper. We tested the accuracy and found it within a thou on most things.
Review by OleDog on April 9th, 2011
The construction is surprising good (for the low price), the slide is smooth & the measuring surfaces are ground & well aligned. When the caliper is closed a press of a button zeros the read-out & when measuring a press of a button converts inch (to .001) to metric (to .02mm).

I'm too old to be familiar with the metric system, but more & more parts, hardware, fittings, tolerances, specifications use metric measurements. The ability to convert between US & metric is very helpful.
Review by ibdilbert on June 4th, 2010
For the price, its amazingly accurate, at least on the small end of the scale.

Can be set in in/mm, that makes it nice. My company uses two types of wire that measures either .003 inches or .005 inches thick. This unit can measure them accurately.

Mine eats batteries as well, but for the price, I can't complain. Comes with a spare battery and a plastic case.
Review by JennaSys on May 8th, 2010
For the price these can't be beat. This is another item that's such a good deal that I've bought several when they're on sale and have given them away to friends and family. I have several just laying around the house myself. I'm not sure how accurate they are across the range, but they are certainly consistent.
Review by concombrefrais on April 3rd, 2010
Perfect and so cheap. I would never buy a more expensive one. Had mine for two years and it is still going (I broke the plastic screen cover but that was my fault). My batteries last about 6 months, not that bad. Go on website like dealextreme.com to get cheap batteries. Got a 100 of them for 5 dollares and free shipping. Then you are all set until...well probably your own death.
Review by michi098 on March 10th, 2010
Bought this for about $16 on sale. Very accurate. No complaints there. Build quality could be a tad bit better, but then again, for the money, this is really good. I haven't had it long enough to judge the battery life.
Review by bahhumbucker on February 12th, 2010
Overall good. I agree that the battery life isn't good. No auto-off feature, which means it's bound to get left "on" from time to time. Accuracy is just as good as big-bucks tools. But, this doesn't have an auto shutoff - if it did it would get a "5".
Review by tomntempe on January 30th, 2010
I've had mine for about 3 years. It works just as it should. It seems like the batteries don't last very long, uses up at least one battery a year and I don't use it very much. For teh price it can't be beat IMHO.
Review by dmoore on January 16th, 2010
These are an excellent deal. I work with a CNC machine all the time and we use these things all day long. Only problems I've had are the little screws falling out of the end support and the batteries don't last a long time. Sometimes comes on after it's turned off. Very accurate. Usally pay abut $15 each for them on sale.

Post a Review

Log in or create a user account to post a review!