Harbor Freight Reviews
All Reviewed Items Index All Items Index Get Bookmarklet! About
Login / Register Search:
Thumbnail of Product

7 Function, Digital Multimeter - 92020 view this item at harborfreight.com »


Ratings: (5 is best)

 1   2  3  4   5
Review by dick_freebird on March 6th, 2013
I have about 10 of these little guys. I use them for what doesn't need the better meters. Battery life is pretty good. Downsides I have come across are (1) operation gets squirrely at low battery and the reading may be pretty far off before the low-batt indicator shows. If backlight comes on and stays on, this also indicates low battery. (2) the current ranges have a pretty high shunt resistance, except for the 10A range, higher than the autoranging meters I have and it varies by range. This can add some error to headroom-limited or low impedance current measurements.

For the money, a dandy little meter - you just have to watch it.
Review by jomama on January 29th, 2012
Have bought many of these with no issues at all. No brainer at $1.99, I usually get about 6, and have no problem with friends buying the extras. Cheap enough to keep handy everywhere, and accurate enough for typical applications. I cannot buy banana jacks test leads for $1.99, so worth it just for the test leads.
Review by djlazar on April 27th, 2011
This meter is awesome. Works great. I can keep it at work and never have to worry about it getting stolen. After losing several hundred dollars of tools to thieves over the years at work, I'm sold on Harbor Freight's cheap disposable tools.
Review by Stormin Mormon on September 27th, 2010
I've gotten several of these on coupons. After blowing out $11 Fluke fuse by checking volts while set on amps. I use the HF meter for everything. Get out the Fluke only if I need a critical measurement.
Review by keithjjo on June 22nd, 2010
I've got a bunch of these around the house and shop. I buy them on sale to give away as door prizes at our Hamfest too.
Review by ibdilbert on June 4th, 2010
I've had both, the backlit and the non-backlit. For the price, you sure can't complain. Both worked well and seemed accurate.
Review by zzyzzx on April 9th, 2010
Bad out of the box.
Review by concombrefrais on April 3rd, 2010
Look at the price and just get it!!! 1.99 on sale.
Review by Cheeptoolbuyer on February 27th, 2010
Great little CHEEP meter! Great for testing all those remote control batteries to find the dead ones, or for checking for dead bulbs in the Christmas tree light string.
Review by skullsoup432 on February 14th, 2010
A big DITTO to what the others have said.
Review by user240485 on January 27th, 2010
Just as everyone says they are cheap throwaways that work great. Worth getting one heck worth getting a few just to have some back ups.
Review by dld on January 12th, 2010
After buying a similar one with backlight for $3.99, went back and bought 5 more of these for $1.99 each. They work, and at that price can be left attached for continuous monitoring. Opened two up to see how they managed to build them at that price. There's not a lot in them other than the chip, fuse, a variable resistor for tuning, battery, and display, but that's about twice as much in parts alone if you could find them.
Review by holger on December 7th, 2009
It really works. I know several others that bought one on sale as well and all seem happy with their units. Good deal!
Review by tjc on November 15th, 2009
I've purchased a few of these on sale. I have no idea how they can manufacture these things and ship them to the US for $2. They're plenty accurate for day-to-day use and if it gets pulled off the bench to the floor, or the leads get slammed in your desk drawer, who cares!

Review by gariac on November 3rd, 2009
I've lost track of how many of these I've bought. I was doing some work in the field, blew one by setting it on ohms then putting it across a battery, realized what I did, and broke out a spare. For $3, who cares.

I've got real meters, but for simple go/no-go tests (checking fuses, tracing wires, etc), I use these cheap meters. If I screw up, just open another pack.

My problem is I can't resist buying them! The funny thing is you see these meters at swap meets and flea markets for about $8 to $10. Go figure.
Review by Bigplanz on November 2nd, 2009
$3!!!! I bought three, for my tool boxes. They are accurate, easy to use and cheap. What's not to like?
Review by JonBoy470 on October 6th, 2009
What can I say? It's a multimeter for $3. Works great, within a few thousandths of a volt compared to my other meter. Cheap enough I bought one for my toolbox and another for the junk drawer. One of the best buys in all of Harbor Freight.
Review by waterppk on June 23rd, 2009
These are awesome, they're cheaper to buy a new one than to replace the 9V when it dies! I've got Flukes, oscilloscopes and expensive HP voltmeters at work and use this side by side with the other equipment without inaccuracy or errors compared to multi-thousand dollar equipment. The current, voltage, resistance and diode checks all agree with more expensive meters. For the price you will NEVER find a better deal - these are also great for loaning to people, who cares if you get it back - You can get them for as cheap as $3 on sale, $2 for the non-backlit ones.

Post a Review

Log in or create a user account to post a review!