Harbor Freight Reviews
All Reviewed Items Index All Items Index About
Login / Register Search:
Thumbnail of Product

1/2" TWIN HAMMER AIR IMPACT WRENCH - 94803 view this item at harborfreight.com »


Ratings: (5 is best)

 1   2  3  4   5
Review by photoleif on March 20th, 2012
Great price for a nice 1/2" drive wrench. It works fine for my light use (wheel lug nuts, differential plugs, etc.). I have this attached to a 105 psi 8-gal compressor (#95386), and the pair works great, though the compressor cycles after fairly few spins of the wrench.

As for torque, it has so far proven completely adequate. Durability is good -- survived a couple drops to concrete garage floor. I would buy this again if I caused a catastrophic failure, and I would recommend to a friend.
Review by jrophoff on March 22nd, 2010
Great impact wrench, when paired with the right compressor. I use it in my home garage.
Review by jlove1974 on March 1st, 2010
I have the older, all aluminum version of the pro (231c copy) twin hammer impact wrench. I got it a few years back off the clearance section for $60!!
Anyway it is an excellent tool, but mine is made in Japan and I am not sure the newer version is. It will do anything a homeowner/amateur mechanic needs.
If you can get this one cheaper
Review by yiranhu on February 28th, 2010
Update my last review... Apparently the last one I got was a dud. Tried another one a few month later and this one is MUCH better. Read more about it and it is a copy of the popular Ingersoll Rand 231C wrench. I tried tightening a lug nut as tight as I could and it zipped it off with my 8 gal HF compressor.
Review by yiranhu on November 26th, 2009
Not a fan of this thing. I have a craftsman 340 ft-lb that worked well but will work very hard to take lugnuts off. I was hoping this would be a tremendous improvement considering that it has higher torque and is twin-hammer. But it didn't do much better. Maybe it was a bad one I got but I returned it. Will try the earthquake next.
Review by yiranhu on November 26th, 2009
Not a fan of this thing. I have a craftsman 340 ft-lb that worked well but will work very hard to take lugnuts off. I was hoping this would be a tremendous improvement considering that it has higher torque and is twin-hammer. But it didn't do much better. Maybe it was a bad one I got but I returned it. Will try the earthquake next.
Review by TucsonK5 on November 23rd, 2009
Good price, but I don't think it quite has the advertised torque, but still pretty strong. Note to users: the wrench will not survive a Suburban frame/body landing on it after a 3 foot drop (HA!). It smashed/cracked the aluminum housing.
Review by corman84 on November 5th, 2009
Have a 120V compressor with a 12gal tank, can remove and replace 2 tires before the compressor needs to cycle. Previous gun was from a wal-mart air tool kit and couldn't do 1 tire on and off.
No issues with breaking bolts, has plenty of power for car and suv lugs.
Exhaust comes out the bottom of the handle, which is nice, my old one was forward, which meant all the oil that would blow through onto the tire i was on. Like previous reviewer I can't say it's gonna last forever in a shop, but for homeowner/weekend wrencher, helluva bang for the buck.
Also want to add there is an included 2yr warranty, so I doubt you'll want to pay for an extended one, for the $40(w/coupon) I spent on this anything past those 2 years is gravy.
Review by psj12 on October 28th, 2009
An excellent alternative to the more expensive IR brand also sold by HF. Can't speak to the durability in commercial use as I bought it for home/farm shop work.

Post a Review

Log in or create a user account to post a review!