Harbor Freight Reviews
All Reviewed Items Index All Items Index About
Login / Register Search:
Thumbnail of Product

4-1/2" ANGLE GRINDER - 95578 view this item at harborfreight.com »


Ratings: (5 is best)

 1   2  3  4   5
Review by mrbios on March 29th, 2016
Been using hft grinders for over 20 years. Never had one break. Some I have worn down more than 30 wheels!

When they get really hot you might need to put it down and pickup a 7" or 9" grinder that can handle the job.

Light - so you can use it with one hand.

CONS: cheap short cord. Below 60 degrees cord gets very stiff and general plastic odors.

My $450 Hilti DAG-500D grinder almost never gets used. Too heavy but has a great cord and adjustable shield.
Review by raymero on February 9th, 2014
Ibought this handy little grinder to dress some cracks in a concrete slab. Worked like a charm and I ocassionally use it to dress edges on tiles. Tools last long if not abused.
Review by dottedzebra on October 28th, 2011
I have a bunch of these and keep different disk/sanders on each. You can pop off the cover and repack it with better grease too. The stuff they come with is pretty bad and some don't have much in them. That's probably the cause of many of the early failings.
Review by harborfreight8x12 on July 7th, 2010
Have had this model for 2 years. Good bang for the buck for occasional use.
Pros: $9.99 on sale, powerful and works like a mule.
Cons: Output shaft is bushed (bushing instead of ball bearings)and will wear out soon.
Review by pidass on April 15th, 2010
Bought it for a tiling job, got a good diamond wheel from Lowes, worked flawlessly.
Review by Cheeptoolbuyer on February 27th, 2010
These little grinders work fine, as long as you dont expect them to last too long. They are CHEEP! Thats why I like them. They will do a decent job, just dont lug them down. Lugging them causes them to heat up and heat will kill them quickly. Use them with light pressure. The job will take a little longer, but the grinder will last a little longer too.
Review by schantzmd on February 15th, 2010
A great grinder for the price, but don't expect it to last under heavy use. I personally have 2 classifications for my tools, good and disposable. This goes into the latter. If you're looking for a grinder you can use heavily skip this and spend the extra $ for a Dewalt or Milwaukee. If you only plan on using this for 1 job or occasional hobby use, go for it you can't go wrong, just don't cry when it craps out while in the middle of a job. I've gone through a half dozen of these grinders over the past 3 years and overall they have worked fine for me. The operational issues they're had have been short life (under heavy use), vibration problems, and excessive bearing noise, (some sound like they have a set of rocks in them). For a cheap grinder these are excellent but for a good grinder they're below average at best.
Review by bahhumbucker on February 9th, 2010
I bought one of these for a job that I knew would beat the tar out of it - didn't want to destroy a "good" grinder. It did the job and even though it sounds like a coffee can full of rocks, (always did) it still works perfectly.

I gave it a 4 because my son bought one based on my experience and it went up in a puff of smoke after 10-15 minutes of use.

I paid $10 on sale. Worth a try.
Review by corman84 on December 12th, 2009
Holy cow these are cheap and work like a mule. The most I beat on this was for cutting concrete pavers, the amount of dust in the air nearly dropped me but this thing just kept going.
Review by rotty on November 27th, 2009
Very good buy. Works well but you can't push too hard or it will bog down.
Review by yiranhu on November 26th, 2009
I have to give this a 5 simply for the price. I have two of these, one with a grinding disc and another with a cutter. I don't use these heavily but for my purpose they are great, especially at 8 bucks a pop!
Review by waterppk on June 23rd, 2009
I've used this with the concrete cutting wheels and ground concrete all day without a problem. Seems to be pretty invulnerable to concrete dust that I though for sure would kill it.
Review by g on June 22nd, 2009
i have had one of these angle grinders for years now. its great. the only bad thing is i have spent more on grinding wheels than the grinder. if you get the coupons by email from hf you can often pick one up for 10 bucks

Post a Review

Log in or create a user account to post a review!