Harbor Freight Reviews
All Reviewed Items Index All Items Index About
Login / Register Search:
Thumbnail of Product

BLUE FLAME DESIGN AUTO DARKENING WELDING HELMET - 91214 view this item at harborfreight.com »


Ratings: (5 is best)

 1   2  3  4   5
Review by dick_freebird on March 6th, 2013
It works, problem I have is that it also works when I -don't- want it to - the shop lighting over the welding bench triggers the LCD too easily. So I have to start the arc with one hand shielding the sensor from the overheads. Probably could cobble up a "sun blind" I guess.

I haven't owned any other auto helmets so can't say whether that's a general problem or just this product.

Review by RobbieKnobbie on August 7th, 2011
I've had this helmet for about two years, and it's worked fine. I don't use it all that often, so I expected the batteries would be a problem, but so far so good.
Review by raymero on April 1st, 2011
I bought this item for a "Yard Art" Night class at the local community college. I was pleased with the wide range of settings it offered. Worked so well I did not replace it when I bought a Hobart Manhandler 187 for home use.
Review by JoBo on April 1st, 2011
I've had mine about 3 years and it's the one pictured with the blue, black and white flames. I'm not a professional welder but have used it both for MIG and stick welding and find it very usefull. It is kept in a dark closet the battery has not been a problem (yet?)
This auto-darkening helment has made welding much easier for this serious hobby welder. I've owned my Lincoln 235 amp stick welder for over 40 years and this helment is the best thing since "sliced bread" for me.
Review by johndjmix on March 16th, 2011
Used my buddys last night, worked perfectly.....much bigger lenz than my $300 miller...

--John
Review by jimlj on January 18th, 2011
These things are junk. The first one I had worked for about 6 months before it died. I had purchased the extended warranty and took the helmet back to HF. They replaced the helmet, and charged me again for the warranty. The second one NEVER worked, even after it had set in direct sunlight as directed. I took it back and they gave me another one that never worked. I took it back and was offered another piece of china junk. I said no thanks and got a refund.
Review by reddogg on April 20th, 2010
The helmet works very well Tig welding, but I like a gold lens on a standard helmet for Arc or Mig.
Review by jpoe on January 11th, 2010
for me, it works great.
Review by corman84 on September 23rd, 2009
Quite happy with this helmet, have had for several years with light use. Comfortable and works great, my only issue is that the battery charged by the solar panel is not meant to be replaced, haven't had it give out yet, but when it does I'll be seeing if that's true.
Review by waterppk on August 10th, 2009
http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?p=869111

Post a Review

Log in or create a user account to post a review!